Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Want to Re-Read

Confession: I have never participated in a meme before but today seems like a good day to try one. This Tuesday’s suggestion from The Broke and the Bookish was to name ten books on your to-be-re-read list and I enjoyed reading Stefani’s selection at Caught Read Handed earlier, so I thought I’d give it a go! In no particular order…

Saffys Angel.jpgSaffy’s Angel by Hilary McKay – because if I re-read this one, I’ll just have to re-read the rest of the Casson Family series and that’s far from a hardship!

Dombey and Son by Charles Dickens – I love Dickens but I try to limit myself to one or two a year. That way I’ve forgotten enough of the small details about the earlier ones by the time I circle around to them again. It’s about time Dombey and Son made a reappearance. I just have to somehow free up the time that reading a Dickens requires.

The Colony of Unrequited Dreams by Wayne Johnston – who doesn’t want to re-read their favourite book over and over? I’ve managed to go almost fours years since I last read this, so it’s definitely due a revisit.

The Vintner's Luck US coverThe Vintner’s Luck by Elizabeth Knox – Reading this for the first time was one of my definitive reading experiences. I was on holiday in Spain with lovely company and fantastic surroundings. I might have bawled my eyes out reading it, but the sun dried up the tears almost as soon as they appeared and sunglasses disguised how much the story wrecked me. I’m nearly frightened to read it again for fear it won’t be as good, and have avoided the sequel for related reasons, but the memories are golden and carefully archived so that first perfect encounter with Xas will survive a re-reading regardless.

The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey by Susan Wojciechowski and illustrated by Irishman PJ Lynch – because re-reading this must surely mean it’s nearly Christmas and I’m afraid I’ve not yet outgrown the desire for it to be Christmas all year round.

Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie. This is a personal favourite and one I’ve had a fair amount of success in recommending to others. Whenever someone reads a book I’ve recommended to them I like to re-read it at the same time so we can have the best possible chats. For that reason, I hope I’ll be re-reading Midnight’s Children many many times.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling – My husband and I queued to collect my copy at midnight but, as much as I wanted to read it straight away, I had to work a few short hours later. I allowed myself one whispered chapter before bed and rushed home straight after work to lose myself in the story. One of the fondest memories I have of my husband is of him making me dinner-in-bed, ensuring I had enough tissues and being the quietest I’d ever heard him til I finally finished it in the wee small hours. Bless him!

Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness – Again, reading this for the first time was just such an all-consuming experience. I read the Chaos Walking series as they were released and they redefined the genre of YA for me. I think Monsters of Men is Ness at his best (yet!). This is such an important book and one that not only I, but hopefully generations to come, will be re-reading again and again.

The Arrival by Shaun Tan. This is the most beautiful book I have ever encountered. Returning to it is always a privilege and a joy.

A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth. The sequel, A Suitable Girl, is due to be released in Autumn 2016, so I should just about manage a re-read of the 1,349 pages of A Suitable Boy before then!

I have been given to understand that there are people who don’t re-read books at all, a policy which, while understandable, is far removed from my own. What about ye? Re-reading: yea or nay? And if yea, what makes your shortlist?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Want to Re-Read

  1. Ok! I type too fast 😀 I meant to say that I forgot how much I love Dickens and now I am inspired to re-read him (but oh where do I find the time??). As you know I add most of your recommendations to my must-read list, will add these – so far I have only managed to read The Bookshop.

    1. Hi Yolanda! I deleted your earlier comment, but I quite like the image of you loving Dickens so much that you only needed one letter to express it!
      I have one of your recommendations (the Anthony Doerr) coming up in 2 books time, I’m looking forward to it!

        1. I will let you know – probably in detail! I’m hoping I won’t become quite so enamoured as it seems his books are a little difficult to lay your hands on here. Which is a little surprising given that All the Light was an NBA finalist. But you might be surprised at all the books that don’t make it quite as far as Ireland, unless someone like me orders them especially. And even then, my bookseller occasionally bumps up against international rights restrictions and I just have to do without. It’s a very privileged kind of problem certainly, but it always surprises me when it happens.

          1. Lol Em- I do love your detailed reviews. I am absolutely useless at reviews. All I can do is gush or shake my head with disappointment. I was told by the Google gods that I would have trouble locating a copy of Doerr’s short story collection The Shell Collector but found it immediately on amazon.ca (so maybe in the US it is as scarce as hen’s teeth?). Maybe you will get lucky too.

Leave a Reply

