One more and I’d have 12 books of Christmas

It’s after the 8th of December so Christmas is now an acceptable topic of conversation in our household. These recent days have been all about planning meals (new vegetarian in the family for Christmas dinner!), practicing carols, digging decorations out of the attic and, although we’d love to have it all done since July, shopping!

Christmas shopping is the kind of thing that I have to ease myself into, so I started off gently today with a visit to the bookshop. And came home with a few books that weren’t on the list. What can I say? I’ve relieved St. Nicholas of some of the burden of rewarding me for being a good little reader this year!

I always enjoy it when people post about what books have recently arrived in their homes and I thought there might be some equally nosy readers out there. I hope your own shopping is going well!

This was today's little haul. Justification to follow...
This was today’s little haul. Justification to follow…
Double trouble! These will be Christmas gifts but they're not going far from home, so I'll get the chance to read it at some point. I myself tend to follow the Pope on twitter, don't you know?!
Double trouble! These will be Christmas gifts but they’re not going far from home, so I’ll get the chance to read it at some point. I myself tend to follow the Pope on twitter, don’t you know?!
A little seasonal reading for me. This book was mentioned in a couple of tributes when Hijuelos died this past October and was caught my eye in a Christmas display in the bookshop.
A little seasonal reading for me. This book was mentioned in a couple of tributes when Hijuelos died this past October and it caught my eye in the bookshop’s Christmas display.
A selection of early readers for my bilingual niece
blog13
This has been adapted for television and will be shown here over the holidays. I always prefer to have read the book before watching an adaptation, so between this and Death Comes to Pemberley, I’ll have my work cut out for me for the next week or two!
I found this as a recommendation on LibraryThing and might leave reading it til January when it can remind me of sunshine and adventures.
I found this as a recommendation on LibraryThing and might leave reading it til January when it can remind me of sunshine and adventures.
This was listed by The Listener (NZ) as one of their books of the year. I had the company of Ruiz Zafon's BBC World Book Club interview on a recent morning walk, so it seemed like a good time to pick this up.
This was listed by The Listener (NZ) as one of their books of the year. I had the company of Ruiz Zafon’s BBC World Book Club interview on a recent morning walk, so it seemed like a good time to pick this up.
And finally, Stick! Which will be a present for my little nephew from LP and which is so lovely...
And finally, Stick! Which will be a present for my little nephew from LP and which is so lovely…
it deserves a second picture!
it deserves a second picture!
2 thoughts on “One more and I’d have 12 books of Christmas

  1. Great selection (although I really can’t comment on the foreign books can I?)I am confident you will love The Thirteenth Tale ( a favourite of mine and I am looking forward to reading her Bellman and Black) and Marina (love his work). The Pope on twitter? goodness where have I been? I must be living under a rock…

  2. I’m really looking forward to The Thirteenth Tale, I’ll let you know how I get on!
    And not only is the Pope on twitter, but there’s a Pope app too! I wasn’t in the know myself until recently but our priest was only too happy to share when I asked him about sources for official information. Considering that many of our parishioners aren’t Internet-savvy, I think he was a long time waiting to make the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

