Localised showers

I’m off to London in the morning and, of course, I haven’t finished my small amount of packing yet. All day I’ve been meaning to check the local weather forecast to be sure I’m bringing the right shoes and all day I’ve found other small things to distract me. If I’m honest, the closest I’ve come to the weather forecast is singing this Pogues song in snatches all afternoon.

I have to declare that I’m not The Pogues’ biggest fan but even I will admit that sometimes their songs come very close to poetry. Not mentioning that song which cannot even be named until December, this is my favourite of their tracks. I think the music and lyrics work especially well together to tell a very moving story. And I always get goosebumps when Shane MacGowan sings this verse:

Now the song is nearly over
We may never find out what it means
But there’s a light I hold before me
And you’re the measure of my dreams
The measure of my dreams

Leave a Reply

