In times of precipitation

Pups and I are just back from our walk before bedtime. On the homeward stretch it started to rain, but it was that pleasant sort of rain which doesn’t distract you by soaking you right through but instead leaves you free to think lovely thoughts about rain itself. These are my default ‘rain thoughts’ – not my words even, but borrowed with care:

I wish in the city of your heart

I wish in the city of your heart

you would let me be the street

from bestclipartblog.com

where you walk when you are most

yourself. I imagine the houses:

It has been raining, but the rain

is done and the children kept home

have begun opening their doors.

– Robley Wilson

A Prayer

In our country they are desecrating churches.

May the rain that pours in pour into the font.

Because no snowflake ever falls into the wrong place,

May snow lie on the altar like an altar cloth.

– Michael Longley

Leave a Reply

