A hopeful sound

I’m off to see Sigur Ros in concert this evening and am beyond excited. I’ve been brushing up on my hopelandic in preparation, though I fear all my efforts may be futile – it’s not like I can reach the high notes anyway!

For those unfamiliar with the musical genius of Sigur Ros, hopelandic is a language invented and used by the group’s frontman:

hopelandic (vonlenska in icelandic) is the ‘invented language’ in which jónsi sings before lyrics are written to the vocals. it’s of course not an actual language by definition (no vocabulary, grammar, etc.), it’s rather a form of gibberish vocals that fits to the music and acts as another instrument.

I’m fascinated by the possibilities of playing around in an invented language, but I readily accept that the group’s music may not be for everyone. Every insomnia or quiet-time playlist on my iPod has at least three Sigur Ros tracks but my brother, who is generously accompanying me this evening, thinks their music sounds like a cat in distress. And he can reach the high notes, so often ‘remixes’ some of my favourite pieces just because he can. I’m not asking anyone to restore harmony to our family, but have a listen and make up your mind for yourself!

Leave a Reply

