Home Decor

Here, have a random bookshelf!

blogshelfbig

This is a fairly typical example of my book shelving. There’s a mixture of old and new, adult lit and child lit, even some unread titles waiting for me.  There’s a little comfort reading, a book for winter and two books for summer. One non-fiction title, which seems about the right ratio for my house. One book has been bought abroad, five others have been brought abroad. Several have had mysterious unknowable lives before they arrived to grace my shelf.

Among these 20 titles are my current read and a novel that has a permanent place in my Top Ten Novels (Ever!). Any guesses? Anyone else enjoyed any of these?

3 thoughts on “Home Decor

  1. I am embarrassed to say I have not read any of the books on your shelf! (although I have read a few of Georgette Heyer’s romances but not those two) The pic is a little dark so cannot make out the first few books on the left but if I were to take a guess (so difficult) at one of your all-time favourites it would be ‘Sorry’? and your current read? perhaps Tinkers? I am intrigued – very much so with ‘The Vintner’s Luck’ by New Zealand author Elizabeth Knox. Am definitely adding that one and ‘Sorry’ to my ‘must read’ list.

    1. Apologies for the photo quality! Not as much natural daylight as I’d like at the moment. Regardless of the handicap, well done! I am indeed currently reading Tinkers, it’s revision for our book group as we’ll be reading the sequel Enon later in the month. And while I’m a big fan of Gail Jones and wholeheartedly recommend Sorry, I’d push The Vintner’s Luck right to the top of your ‘must read’ list: it’s fantastic and one of my favourite novels. Avoid the film adaptation though – excellent cast and director but it all went horribly wrong somewhere!
      Sorry to read on your blog that you’re feeling poorly, but I hope Margaret Atwood set you on the road to recovery? I was a huge fan of Atwood in my early twenties, and still am, but I follow her on Twitter now and find it difficult sometimes to reconcile the image I’d built up in my head with this paragon of self-promotion. I haven’t read MaddAddam yet where once I would have pounced on any new release of hers. I’m glad the internet wasn’t quite so big when I was younger! The Georgette Heyers in my photo (and the many others elsewhere) are my tonic in times of illness; they’re my definition of comfort reading! Feel better soon! Em

      1. thanks for the wishes Em;-) My ‘turn to’ fiction is anything by Alice Munro so Atwood is fresh and exciting to me and I’m loving Cat’s Eye…in my twenties I was reading Nadine Gordimer and JM Coetzee (sounds pretentious doesn’t it?) and Chinua Achebe (Things fall Apart is one of my all time favourite books) but that’s the space I was in…

Leave a Reply

