Laying it on the line

This is the start of an occasional series in which I plan to highlight some of my favourite quotes or lines of text from my accumulated reading. The books may or may not be on my list of favourite reads, and they may not even be texts I’d wholeheartedly recommend, but the lines themselves will have, for some reason, struck a chord with me. These are the lines which make me hold my breath when I read them and which don’t let me move past the end punctuation mark without pausing. They are the words with which I fill notebooks and which I repeat to myself when I can’t sleep.

As always, words are my currency. I’d be delighted to barter some of my most valued words in exchange for some of yours.

2 thoughts on “Laying it on the line

  1. wonderful idea! I look forward to reading some of your favourite lines. Here’s one:
    From Marilynne Robinson’s ‘Housekeeping’:
    ‘It was the kind of loneliness that made clocks seem slow and loud and made voices sound like voices across water.’

    1. Ooh, I like that one! I share my life with a sonorous wind-up clock that was once an anniversary gift from my grandfather to my grandmother. It has a tick-tock that seems to grate on other people’s ears, but which I love and which keeps me constant company. There are times though, sometimes early in the morning, sometimes when the rain keeps me from opening the windows to the outside world, when that clock and loneliness seem to be at least nodding acquaintances.

Leave a Reply

